Support of heart and lung research

Kerckhoff-Foundation

For more than 80 years, the William G. Kerckhoff Foundation has supported young scientists with their research into new therapeutic methods for the heart and lung, thereby guaranteeing the development and testing of newer and excellent therapeutic approaches and technologies.

Research

Development of organs of the cardiovascular system

Special Education

Scholarships for junior researchers and scientists

Perspective

of research, special education, and improving the foundation

William G. Kerckhoff Foundation

A warm welcome!

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Entstehung und Entwicklung der Kerckhoff-Stiftung sowie über ihre geschäftsführenden bzw. beratenden Organe und Gremien.

About the foundation

The Kerckhoff Foundation has been supporting young scientists since 1929.

Latest News

Here you will find the most important news about the Kerckhoff Foundation.

Board of Directors

The honorary board represents the foundation internally and externally.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees advises and decides on the use of assets.

Establishment of the William G. Kerckhoff Foundation

For more than 80 years, the William G. Kerckhoff Foundation has supported young scientists with their research into new therapeutic methods for the heart and lung. Through selected sponsorship of research and development, the Kerckhoff Foundation has made it possible for particularly young scientific talent to experiment and to make advances in the dimensions of fundamental research, thereby guaranteeing the development and testing of newer and excellent therapeutic approaches and technologies.

With the aim to clarify the concept of health, the Kerckhoff Foundation organises public tours through the institution’s historical buildings and the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research. The descriptive yet simple presentation of complex processes e.g. in molecular biology, genetic therapy and stem-cell research brings, for above all children, the fascination of scientific research and creates an early appreciation of the possibilities for the avoidance of heart and lung illnesses. Regular symposiums and technical congresses further complete the scientific offerings of the foundation and the institute.

Old building of the Max-Planck-Institute

Hall of Honour

New building of the Max-Planck-Institute

The William G. Kerckhoff Foundation was founded by Louise E. Kerckhoff, widow of the of German origin businessman William G. Kerckhoff from Los Angeles. As a thankful patient of the Hessian public bath Bad Nauheim he decided within his lifetime to found an institution to provide for the advancement of medics after their university studies in the field of heart illnesses and diseases. After Kerckhoff’s death in 1929 his widow realised his wishes.

The in 1931 founded William G. Kerckhoff Heart Research Institute was affiliated 20 years later with the “Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Foerderung der Wissenschaften e.V.” and in 1972 finally integrated as “Max Planck Institute for Psychological and Clinical Research, W. G. Kerckhoff Institute”. The capital of the William G. Kerckhoff Foundation flows essentially in the institutions and operations of the in 2005 new oriented and founded current Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research as well as in scholarships for young scientists.

Contact

Information

Adress

Visit us on the campus of the Max Planck Institute:

Parkstrasse 1 · GER–61231 Bad Nauheim

Phone

You can reach our managing director
Dr. Matthias Heil at

+49 6032 705-1705

E-MAIL

Please send your request to our central mail address:

info@kerckhoff-stiftung.de

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Die William G. Kerckhoff-Stiftung
Seit mehr als 80 Jahren unterstützt die William G. Kerckhoff-Stiftung junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei der Erforschung neuer Therapieverfahren rund um Herz-Kreislauf und Lunge. Durch die gezielte Förderung von Forschung und Fortbildung ermöglicht es die Kerckhoff-Stiftung insbesondere dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs, in neue Dimen- sionen der Grundlagenforschung vorzudringen, und gewährleistet so die zukunftsorientierte Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer, exzellenter Technologien und Therapieansätze.

Mit dem Ziel der gesundheitlichen Aufklärung organisiert die Kerckhoff-Stiftung öffentliche Führungen durch das historische Institutsgebäude und durch das Max-Planck-Institut für Herz- und Lungenforschung. Die anschaulich-einfache Dar- stellung komplexer Prozesse z.B. in der Molekularbiologie, Gentherapie und Stammzellenforschung bringt vor allem Kindern die Faszination wissenschaftlichen Forschens nahe und schafft ein frühzeitiges Bewusstsein für die Möglichkeiten zur Vermeidung von Herz- und Lungenerkrankungen. Regelmäßige Symposien und Fachkongresse ergänzen das wissenschaftliche Angebot von Stiftung und Institut.

Gegründet wurde die William G. Kerckhoff-Stiftung von Louise E. Kerckhoff, Witwe des deutschstämmigen Unternehmers William G. Kerckhoff aus Los Angeles. Als dankbarer Patient des Hessischen Staatsbades Bad Nauheim hatte dieser sich schon zu Lebzeiten ent-schlossen, eine Einrichtung zu gründen, die Medizinern nach beendetem Hochschulstudium die Weiterbildung auf dem Gebiet der Herzkrankheiten ermöglicht. Diesen Entschluss setzte seine Witwe nach Kerckhoffs Tod im Jahre 1929 in die Tat um.

Das von der Stiftung getragene, 1931 gegründete William G. Kerckhoff-Herzforschungsinstitut wurde 20 Jahre später der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e. V. angeschlossen und 1972 als "Max-Planck-Institut für Physiologische und Klinische Forschung, W. G. Kerckhoff-Institut" vollends in die Gesellschaft integriert. Die Mittel der William G. Kerckhoff-Stiftung fließen hauptsächlich in die Einrichtungen und den Betrieb des nach einer Neuausrichtung und -gründung in 2005 entstandenen, heutigen Max-Planck-Instituts für Herz- und Lungenforschung sowie in Stipendien für junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler.
© 2010 - 2015 by comm:act